Monday, June 1, 2009

Kid Mud Cover Art and Tracklist

New and Used Records is proud to announce that Kid Mud's debut full length, Now They Shut Us Down will be released on Tuesday, June 16. Kid Mud is the brainchild of Sean Duncan, an indie rock vet who previously played in Fiver - a Modesto outfit that recorded with Jason Lytle and toured with Death Cab For Cutie. While his indie rock resume had taken him on tours all over the US and the UK, Duncan felt as though he'd hit rock bottom two years ago. He started writing songs at a furious pace, recording in a makeshift studio in his San Francisco apartment. Those recordings resulted in the 2008 EP, Birds Will Move In (NUR003), in which Duncan played ever instrument. For Now They Shut Us Down, Duncan split time between home and a recording studio, collaborating with a horde of musicians. Duncan has crafted a record that flows cohesively through 13 diverse songs, conveying a story of emptiness and ultimately redemption.

The cover art above is a painting by Souther Salazaar, who also did the artwork for Birds Will Move In.

Here is the tracklist, and we will have free downloads later this week:

01. Eviction
02. 1095
03. Not Far, New Far
04. Number 12 Looks Just Like You
05. Tempera
06. Numbers and Graphs
07. Federated
08. 909 Garden
09. Questions or Comments
10. The Salt Mine
11. Guidelines For Style
12. Shadowbox
13. The Godfather

No comments: